Facing Reality – Life With Fibromyalgia And True Friends

Thinking

Yesterday was spent chilling at home, making plans for year five of our business, www.cardsandcandlesforalloccasions.co.uk, and chatting with customers… thinking about lots of ideas and new products that I would like to work on over the coming months and building new contacts to grow our business is a must.

I had a Fibro tantrum in the afternoon but it will not keep me down… I have heat pads for my hip pain, magnesium spray for my cramping legs and prescription medications to manage it all. It is true what they say “I may have Fibromyalgia but Fibromyalgia does not have me” – I will not let this drag me down, I refuse to let an illness rule my life.

Fibro slows me down

I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in February 2014 after many years of symptoms, it is something which I always thought that I was too young to have. I always assumed that doctors would diagnose my problem and provide a cure. Sadly I was wrong, Fibromyalgia has no cure. This illness is something which is managed by long term medications and exercise, changes in diet can also help.

I dont look sick

What are the symptoms of Fibromyalgia? Symptoms can vary from person to person, some people have more symptoms than others where other people have an extended list of symptoms which also affect existing illnesses. The symptoms I suffer from include:

* Headaches
* Pain and pins/needles/numbness in hands and fingers
* Pain in shoulders, arms and wrists
* Restless Leg Syndrome – especially at night
* Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
* Insomnia – disturbed and restless sleep
* Back pain
* Hip pain
* Knee pain – knees regularly ‘give’ way
* Ankle pain – ankles regularly ‘give’ way
* Brain fog – memory problems, issues forming sentences, general ‘fuzziness’
* Depression
* Anxiety

There are days where I need to rest and use my stick to get around, but I’m starting to realise that if I take it easy for a day or two then the Fibro flares don’t last as long and I can get back to normality sooner.

Real Woman

Just lately I have done a lot of thinking, I have been looking at the people who surround me… I have so many wonderful friends who I value and know that they are always there for me when I need support, need someone to talk to or just need a friend.

I have realised just who I can and cannot trust… friendships and relationships come and go but in time we realise just who really matters in our lives.
I have had many friendships over the years which have ended for various reasons, not all of these were genuine friendships, in that people were only interested in what they could gain or how I could help them… I now know that I do not need this sort of person in my life.

You will only get the chance to walk all over me once – people need to realise that I am not just here for their personal gain and I won’t keep letting you come back to do it again.

True Friends

I have some very important, special and valued people in my life who know me, support me and understand my illness and other aspects of my life and past… those are the people who matter to me.

I have friends who have similar backgrounds to myself, friends with the same health issues as me, friends whose lives are polar opposite to me but at the end of the day we are always there for each other and will always help each other where we can.

Life is about living for the present, not living in the past… follow your dreams and reach for the stars, never let someone else bring you down. Stay positive and remember that true friends are always there for you.

Destiny

Leave a Reply

