Reasons To Be Cheerful

1

During our busy lifestyles it is all too easy to let the feelings of doom and gloom overwhelm us, focus on the not so good things and forget about the things we should be thankful for so with this in mind, I decided to write a blog post on things in life that I am thankful for… I’d love to read your comments, or indeed your ‘things’ if you choose to write a Reasons To Be Cheerful blog too.

Some of my reasons to be cheerful are more significant than others… some are appreciated by other people too, while some are little things which just matter to me. Whatever your reason to be cheerful, stop and appreciate it, remember the good things in your life, tell your loved ones how much they matter and most importantly look after yourself and those around you.

So what are my Reasons To Be Cheerful today, on Friday 9th October 2011?

1. PEOPLE

I have a brilliant group of close friends around me, as well as my family – people who know the ‘real me’ and everything about me and love me for the person I have become.

Friends and family are the most important people in our lives and we should all stop and appreciate each other as we never know when a loved one will be taken from us.

2. SOCIAL NETWORKING

Sites like Facebook and Twitter have their good points and their bad points but it is through these sites that I have met many people who have become an important part of my life, true friendships have been formed via the internet, for which I will always be thankful.

One young man who has touched my life through Twitter, more than many others, is Harry Moseley, an 11 year old bot who has been battling a brain tumour for the last four years and after many weeks in a coma at Birmingham Children’s Hospital has today returned home to spend his last days with his family. Harry is an inspirational boy who has worked tirelessly through his own condition to raise funds and awareness for Cancer research charities. Harry’s strength, motivation and inspiration has really made me stop and think about the important things in life, the things which really matter. Harry Moseley is a true hero and I for one, am very proud to know Harry, albeit just via the internet.

2

3. AUTUMN

Autumn is a sign that Christmas is on it’s way… long dark, snuggly nights with loved ones and wrapping up in our warm snuggly clothes for walks in the park and kicking in the leaves – there is something special about this time of year, something beautiful.

I love the colours of Autumn too… rich reds and oranges, chocolates and browns, golds and bronzes – beautiful colours which fill me with lots of artistic and crafty inspiration and ideas 😀

4. HANDMADE CHRISTMAS

I love to give gifts to our loved ones but there is nothing more special than to design and make a gift yourself, filling it with time, love and pride, making sure that it is something ‘just right’ for the recipient and spending the cold Autumn evenings working towards your end design, there is such a sense of pride in giving a gift which we have made ourselves and Christmas is a perfect time to share our crafty skills.

We have promised to have a Handmade Christmas as much as possible and I have lots of ideas for handmade gifts and decorations, food and drink and generally making our home a little handcrafted haven for the festive period… so far we have a long way to go but I’ve started and I’m determined that I will get there 😀

5. ACHIEVEMENTS

As you all know we are constantly looking for new crafty ideas, different things we can handcraft for ourselves and also to add to our gift range on the website so this week I started something new. Knitting. Many years ago my paternal Grandmother taught me to knit but it was something that I wasn’t really interested in, I much preferred to crochet (it seemed easier) so when Gordon bought me a book about “Knitting & Crochet” I thought I would try my hand at learning to knit all over again. I would probably have been better watching some instructional videos before I started but instead I sat down with my needles, yarn and book and I am slowly getting there. Perhaps I’ll have a scarf finished for Winter 2012!!

I hope you have enjoyed this post, I certainly enjoyed thinking about each of these things and would love to hear about what makes you happy!!

xxx Love Laura xxx

www.cardsandcandlesforalloccasions.co.uk

Leave a Reply

