Wish Upon A Star – Part 1

A customer recently contacted me with an order for Christmas, included in this was a very specific request for her three year old daughter:

* A3 in size or bigger
* Fairies, sparkles and girly
* Nice verse inside (age relevant)

Normally my greetings cards are no bigger than A4 size so I was a bit overwhelmed at the prospect of making something bigger, but after a chat with our customer and looking into suppliers, we decided to go for a twelve inch square card instead. Even so, my experience working with this size is limited.

Last night I went to bed feeling absolutely shattered but as soon as my head hit the pillow ideas began to flow and I got to thinking about this commissioned order… how about a ‘book type’ card? One page in pink girly colours with another page in traditional Christmas colours, adding a page with a relevant verse? Yeah, this could work – I thought.

As I tried to get to sleep, the ideas were flowing thick and fast and I thought back to a suggestion someone had made on the Crafts Forum about patchwork designs and decided that the main focus of this card would be lilac and pink patchwork.

So at 1:15am I jumped out of bed and came through to the craft room where I began working. I cut out thirty six small two inch squares, eighteen in pink and eighteen in lilac and using strong adhesive I mounted these onto a 12x12inch sheet of white card.

Once the page was filled I decided to place brads at the corner of each square to give a buttoned effect. Next I attached another sheet of white card to the reverse to cover the sharp ends of the brads – this card is for a little girl remember, so we want it to be child friendly.

I decided to work on the “Wish Upon A Star” theme for this card so next I cut out the wording using my Cricut Expression machine from gold embossed card. Then it was time to mount the wording onto the page.

I’m going along a fairytale princess theme for this page of the card… lots of pinks and fairies and stars. Personally I quite like how it looks so far but as it’s now 4am and still dark you’ll have to wait until later to see any photographs!!

I’ll add photos later today of the work in progress.

One comment

Leave a Reply

