Featured Crafter: Bodrighy Wood

Today’s featured crafter is Pete, read on to hear what he does, where it all started and what he hopes to achieve in the future.

If you hover over each company name, it is ‘clickable’ which will take you directly to their website.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. Who are you and what is the name of your business?

My name is Pete and I go under the trade name of Bodrighy Wood.

2. What is your craft and how did you first become involved/interested in crafting?

My specific craft is that of woodturning though I tend to play around at others as well, sometimes incorporating them into the wood work. I am one of those lucky enough to have been brought up doing crafts from rug making to fancy knotwork and so have always played around at some craft or other. Woodturning was something I did in the far distant past at school and then came back to later. Starting of purely as a hobby it has gravitated, partly through choice and partly through necessity into a career.

3. Where do you find your inspiration for your work?

Inspiration comes from a myriad of sources. Obviously other turners but I also research pottery, glassware and other crafts, both ancient and modern. In these I find ideas for design, shape etc. Lately a major influence has been other crafts, specifically fabric crafts as I am more and more finding myself making tools and equipment for other crafters such as the crochet hooks here

1

4. What made/inspired you to start your crafts business? What did you do before?

From school I was a merchant naval officer and then via various routes ended up as an IT teacher in a college, teaching mainly students with learning difficulties. Woodturning became a career possibility when I was made redundant and found that getting a job was not going to be easy. I was already selling some of my work so it seemed an obvious route to follow

5. Can your customers have something personal created by you? Or are your items “stock only”?

Whilst I do a fair bit of ‘artistic’ work and one off pieces I am increasingly finding that my work load consists of things that are ordered or commissioned. People will see the things that I do on my website and then contact me asking if I can do something for them

6. Do you have a favourite item/range out of all your crafted items?

My personal favourite is the rustic work I do where the tactile quality of the natural wood is blended with the smoothness of the turned wood. These pieces vary from bowls and goblets to purely decorative pieces like the one on the left

2

7. Where/how do you sell your items? Do you have a website/blog where we can see your work?

I have a website at Bodrighy Wood which is a basically a showcase of my work. I sell through word of mouth and via one of three online shops which are accessible via the website.

8. If you could change one thing about your crafts business, what would it be?

On a personal level it would be my own organisational ability. I am useless at it. Otherwise it would be fantastic if woodturning and woodwork overall had the acceptance in the UK that it has in America and Australia where it is held in high regard as an art form as well as a skilled craft.

9. What are your plans for your future within the crafting world?

To major on the provision of hand made, bespoke crafting supplies and to perhaps get more of a name for myself in the gallery world. Long way to go on the latter.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you Pete for taking the time to join us in our Featured Crafter section and may we wish you all the best for your future in woodturning.

Leave a Reply

