First Card of 2010

This morning I decided that being the tenth of January, perhaps it was time I started to work on some new season stock… thinking is as far as I got as we had some visitors!! So this evening I have closed myself away in my craft room and came up with this card using only my new “toys”

To make this card I used:

Ivory coloured C5 card (with matching envelope)
DCWV “White Core” Cardstock – sheet of green
DCWV “White Core” Cardstock – sheet of brown
Papermania “friends” 8×8 paper
Sizzix “Owl with branch” medium Sizzlit die
Sizzix Texture Boutique
Crafts-Too “Leafy Tree” Embossing Folder
Gold on ivory “Happy Birthday” banner

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

First I covered part of the front of my card with the Papermania “friends” paper to give the card a nice background to build on.

Then I took the sheet of green DCWV “White Core” Cardstock and embossed the leafy tree onto it using the Crafts Too embossing folder, then lightly sanded the embossed image so the tree would stand out more from the card.

Next I took the brown DCWV “White Core” Cardstock and used my Sizzix Sidekick machine with the Sizzix “Owl with Branch” Sizzlit die to cut out my owl before lightly sanding the owl image to give some definition.

I then layered the diecut owl onto the embossed tree image before mounting this onto my card and finishing with a gold and ivory “Happy Birthday” sentiment and here is the finished result:

owl and tree

Now I know my photography isn’t great tonight with artificial lighting and the card not being set straight in the image, but it gives you an idea of what I’ve done. I’m not 100% happy with it but for my first attempt using these techniques I don’t think it’s half bad šŸ™‚

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Until now I have only used Cuttlebug’s embossing folders then I was in my local craft shop yesterday and saw the “Crafts Too” range and liked the look of the leafy tree so thought I would give it a try and I am very impressed. They are slightly cheaper than the Cuttlebug folders and from what I have seen so far they are of equal quality – very easy to use, so as you’ve guessed I’ll be expanding my range of these folders soon!!

You can see the Crafts Too products >HERE< and more specifically their embossing folders >HERE<.

One comment on “First Card of 2010

  1. […] I have only photographed one of my cards using my Leafy Tree embossing folder, which can be seen >HERE< but rest assured there are more to come!! Published […]

Leave a Reply

