It’s time…

The lovely Jan of Jan’s Cards and Crafts is a demonstrator for Stampin’ Up! and after seeing some of her beautiful creations I decided to join one of her Stampin’ Up! clubs back at the beginning of August bearing in mind that I’ve never done any stamping before but I’m always looking to try new crafty ideas so thought I’d give it a go.

Since joining the monthly club, I have purchased five stunning sets of stamps which have all been gathering dust, so yesterday I decided it was time to start trying them out and see what I could come up with. So I sat down at my desk, laid out all of my stamp sets, inks, etc and got to work:

desk

The first card I made using the Stampin’ Up! “pocket silhouettes” stamp set… stamped onto cream card with VersaColor ‘Bark’ ink with each image then cut out using a Dovecraft 1.5 inch circle punch.

All three images were then mounted onto a piece of green card stock which had the corners cut away with a decorative punch. Next I took a cream 5″ x 7″ card and covered one half with ivory and gold vellum, before mounting the pre-mounted images and wording. Here is the result:

1

Next I decided to try a new baby card so using the Stampin’ Up! “bundle of joy” stamp set, I chose the giraffe and using my black StazOn ink, stamped the image onto white pearlescent card stock before double mounting it onto blue then silver card.

Next I took a cream 5″ x 7″ card and covered one half with a blue patterned paper by Anna Griffin, then finally added the mounted stamped image to my card along with an “It’s s Boy” banner. What do you think?

2

Lastly, I decided to go back to my Stampin’ Up! “pocket silhouettes” stamp set, stamping them onto pale silver pearlescent card using black StazOn ink then cutting each image out using my Sizzix Sidekick and Window Cuts Rectangle Tag.

Next I covered half of my cream 5″ x 7″ card with pink patterned paper and then attached my four stamped tags using eyelets and my Crop-a-dile Big Bite, before finishing it off with a “Happy Birthday” sentiment and three padded butterfly embellishments and here is the end result:

3

For my first three attempts at stamping I’m relatively happy with them but I know I have soooo much to learn, there are so many techniques out there such as heat embossing, watercolouring, etc that I just don’t think I’ll ever have time to try them all!! But I’ve got to start somewhere and I still have lots of stamps that I haven’t used yet and more on order đŸ˜‰

Any feedback, constructive criticisms or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading!! Laura xxx

One comment on “It’s time…

  1. Diane says:

    i really like your cards, am new to card making and only tried stamps once or twice myself, i wish i lived in the US because there are so muc more products and clubs over there, us irish are still a bit behind.

Leave a Reply

