World Card Making Day

Saturday 3rd October 2009 was World Card Making Day, this is the first year I have heard about this but details on their website state:

World Card Making Day began in 2006 as National Card Making Day. Founded by Paper Crafts magazine to bring card makers together at the beginning of the busiest card-making season of the year, it was first held on October 7, 2006. The initial celebration involved the Paper Crafts magazine audience only; however, due to the positive response it received and the worldwide popularity of card making, the holiday became known as World Card Making Day from then on.

Now in its fourth year, World Card Making Day is celebrated annually on the first Saturday in October. It’s a day for the card-making community — hobbyists, retailers, and manufacturers — to unite and celebrate the connection and creativity that is the heart of card making.

On Saturday I got tied up with updating and revamping our website so didn’t get the chance to do much in the way of crafting so I decided to dedicate yesterday (Sunday) to cardmaking instead. I hope all of the other participants in “World Card Making Day” will let me off for being a day late 😉

I started the day making a couple of men’s Christmas cards in the shirt and tie design… a really simple design to master once you get the hang of it. You could make yourself up a template if you wanted to but I don’t bother, I just measure each card as I make it and here’s the result:

shirt1
shirt2

Next up was this really cute decoupage from the Smirk range… I used my crop-a-dile and eyelets to ‘hang’ the string for the stockings:

stockings

My plan was to carry on with Christmas themed cards all weekend to build up a stock for our forthcoming events, so I made these:

door
1
3

A few weeks ago I was passing a local card shop and saw some gorgeous little stockings in the window… they are designed for hanging on small ornamental fireplaces (also sold in the shop) and you can buy them with a name or message on them… I instantly saw the potential for using on cards!! I’ve only used one so far and that was for a baby’s first Christmas card… the writing on the stocking says “Special Little Girl” – what do you think?

baby

While going through my craft supplies looking for inspiration I came across my Dovecraft 1.5inch circle punch… I’ve had it for ages but never used it, so thought it was time to start, and here is the first new baby girl card I came up with:

babygirl

Then I thought I could use my Sizzix and die cuts combined with the punch to create a baby boy card… I really like this one:

babyboy

And lastly, following on with the circle punch, I made three hole down the right hand side of my card, and ‘hung’ three small Christmas trees, one in each space, using thread. I finished the card with a diecut silhouette angel and sentiment:

angel

I had to call it a night here as hubby was in need of some dinner lol… but it’s back to crafting today to see what new creations I can come up with!!

Thanks for reading and I’d really appreciate any feedback you can offer.

Laura xxx

Leave a Reply

